Sunday, 13 May 2018

Movie Review: JUSTICE LEAGUE (2017)

Justice League

Since DC have tried to create a movie universe to compete with the phenomenally successful Marvel one, they've had disappointment after disappointment. Since the painfully boring Man of Steel, I think the only movie they have made which I've really enjoyed was Wonder Woman. 2016's Batman v Superman should have been a monstrous triumph, with DC's two biggest characters in a film together for the first time, but it sucked harder than one of Harvey Weinstein's house guests. Speaking of which, Ben Affleck's association with that grubby cretin has seen his popularity plummet, and this has no doubt put his future as Batman into question. It arguably had an impact on this movie when it hit cinemas late last year too.

Aside from the beacon of hope that is Wonder Woman, I'm sure the big bosses at DC were in panic mode when putting this movie together. I can imagine them discussing how to make a character as lame as Aquaman, with his bleach blonde hair and skin-tight green leggings, appeal to the general public. I bet one of them said "Fuck it. Let's just make him Khal Drogo from Game of Thrones! Everyone loves Khal Drogo. We'll even keep the tattoos!"

Ironically, the DC TV series have been really good. Arrow, The Flash, Supergirl etc have all been very enjoyable, and far superior to the movies. For this reason, I'm glad they didn't copy Marvel and try to merge the universes, and I was OK with them re-casting The Flash. As long as they leave the TV show the fuck alone, I'm good.

All of the above, along with stories of large re-shoots, all contributed to me giving Justice League a miss when it came out at the cinema. Now it's out on Blu-Ray, I thought it was time to take the plunge and give it a chance.

(Spoilers ahead)

I'll cut to the chase. I actually quite enjoyed Justice League. It's more light-hearted in tone than the previous DC Universe movies and there's plenty of humour mixed in with the over the top action. The powers that be clearly learnt from The Avengers movies and adapted accordingly. Maybe a little too much! The story involves a heavily CGI'd bad-guy called Steppenwolf, who is an almost unstoppable conqueror, being released from something or other and is now going to bring about the end of days. No, it's not the storyline of Thor: Ragnarok. It's completely different. Honest! Before he can annihilate mankind, he has to find the three 'Mother Boxes' which are super-powerful cubes and are nothing like the Tesseract in the Marvel movies! Anyway, Batman puts a team together to fight Steppenwolf and his crew, and he also uses the power of one of these boxes to bring Superman back to life. This in itself should be a major spoiler. However, the geniuses at Warner put Superman on most of the DVD/Blu-Ray covers and posters so it wasn't exactly a surprise.

Justice League was good fun and certainly a step in the right direction for DC, but I felt that I'd already seen it before. There are so many better story avenues they could have gone down, instead of the one they chose, that I felt a little short-changed. The actors all did the characters 'justice', and the special effects were excellent. They could have done with a more charismatic and interesting villain though.

I believe that Justice League performed well enough at the box office, so I'm sure a sequel and more related movies will see the light of day over the next few years. It'll certainly be interesting to see where they go next.


Friday, 11 May 2018

Album Review: BULLET - Dust To Gold

Bullet - Dust To Gold

01. Speed and Attack
02. Ain't Enough
03. Rogue Soldier
04. Fuel the Fire
05. One More Round
06. Highway Love
07. Wildfire
08. Screams in the Night
09. Forever Rise
10. The Prophecy
11. Hollow Grounds
12. Dust to Gold


Thursday, 10 May 2018

Album Review: THIRTY SECONDS TO MARS - America

Thirty Seconds To Mars - America

01. Walk On Water
02. Dangerous Night
03. Rescue Me
04. One Track Mind (feat. A$AP Rocky)
05. Monolith
06. Love Is Madness (feat. Halsey)
07. Great Wide Open
08. Hail To The Victor
09. Dawn Will Rise
10. Remedy
11. Live Like A Dream
12. Rider


Wednesday, 9 May 2018

Album Review: ANDREW W.K. - You're Not Alone

Andrew W.K. - You're Not Alone

01. The Power Of Partying
02. Music Is Worth Living For
03. Ever Again
04. I Don't Know Anything
05. The Feeling Of Being Alive
06. Party Mindset
07. The Party Never Dies
08. Give Up On You
09. Keep On Going
10. In Your Darkest Moments
11. The Devil's On Your Side
12. Break The Curse
13. Total Freedom
14. Beyond Oblivion
15. Confusion And Clarity
16. You're Not Alone

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig